Monday, January 12, 2009

Impulses...

I do not usually fall prey to impulses. I am calculated and thorough, not impulsive. However, on a quick trip to Best Buy with the coach to pick up something he needed, I guess my guard was down.

It started off innocently enough. I was just browsing. I looked at the music... nothing I couldn't live without. Next, I looked at Ipod accessories... yep, nothing there I needed. Then I saw them... the cameras. Why was I hypnotized by the pretty, pretty cameras? I have a digital camera. There is absolutely nothing wrong with my 3 year old, Kodak Easy Share camera. It is a whopping 5 MP of point and shoot bliss. So what if the princess' soccer action shots are blurry. I think that gives them an artistic look. So what if the eagle I took a picture of in Alaska shows up so small that it is unrecognizable. I know what it's supposed to be, right? So what if the princess' digital camera she got for Christmas has 10 MP and takes way better pictures than mine. I can borrow hers. Yea, so I'm convinced... I did not need a new camera... mine was perfectly fine.

Here is where the impulse starts that leads to my ultimate demise. It's a little thing called... but I WANT one. Ok, so I did have some legitimate reasons to want/need a new camera. The princess plays soccer and does gymnastics and I want some action shots. She also has piano recitals, so I want to be able to zoom in on her. And, of course, I want to be able to take good pictures of the pup. Nothing is too good for the princess and the pup!

So, what kind of camera? Of course, I head over to the digital SLRs. This is what coach's brother has to take pictures of his kids, the cheerleader and the cool dude. I must need one of those, right? After a very, very brief conversation with the camera technician/salesperson, it is more than obvious that I do not even know enough about cameras and photography to be dangerous.

I am gently guided back to the point and shoot camera section. Hmmm... don't I have one of those? It seems that I have not been properly introduced to the point and shoot big brother. This guy is the 10 MP, I can zoom in on an ant from across the room, shoot 30 shots in a matter of seconds kind of big brother. In fact, we had not met. But, I was beginning to wish he was part of my family.

So, the conversation goes something like this... "Ummm... coach... ummm... ummm... I want this camera. It has this and this and this and this and mine is so old and slow and not enough mega-pixels and I could use it for this and this and this and... what do you think?" To which my easy-going, sweet wonderful coach says... "Well, get it." So, now I am nervous. Get it? What? No! Are you crazy? I have not researched it. What are the reviews? Is this the best deal going? I hadn't planned on buying anything. Uh... help. I am a fish out of water here. "Just get it.", he says.

So, thanks to involuntary impulses and an understanding coach... big brother camera now has a new loving home. Of course, he could not come alone. He had to bring his two cousins... their names are... high speed SD card and camera case. If anyone would like to add a big brother camera to their home, his name is Canon Powershot SX10.

No comments:

Post a Comment